Skip to content

Mood Food: PMS Cookies

August 31, 2010

“Ughhh I think I have PMS too….” my boyfriend whined as the apartment filled up with the smell of chocolate chip cookies.

“Really?” I asked with one eyebrow raised. “What does it feel like?”

“It feels like I’ve been shot and now I’m bleeding from places I shouldn’t be bleeding from!”

“That’s not how it feels at all.”

“Oh. Can I still have a cookie?”

These cookies are the perfect PMS food. Both salty and sweet, they’re a great fix. After being whiney, moody and generally morose for days, I headed to the store last night to pick up the ingredients. Within minutes of touching cookie dough to my lips I felt a million times better.

“I can’t tell if that’s really sexy or just really disgusting,” my boyfriend admitted as I ravenously licked cookie dough off my fingers. It’s that good.

I brough the rest of the cookies into work today. I knew I would otherwise eat them all this week. The women are now crowded around the kitchenette moaning and giggling. The men haven’t been allowed in yet.

229451125398f00ea12d-main_Full

PMS Cookies (Potato Chip Cookies from Country Living)

1 ½ Sticks Unsalted Butter

1 Cup Light Brown Sugar

1 Cup Granulated Sugar

2 Large Eggs

1 tsp. Vanilla

2 Cups All Purpose Flour

½ tsp. Salt

1 tsp. Baking Soda

2 Cups Crushed Potato Chips

1 Cup Chocolate Chips

(Ingredient Tip: Use less butter if your potato chips are very greasy. The extra oil from greasy chips can lead to flat cookies.)

Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Beat the butter and sugars together, using an electric mixer set on medium-high speed, until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to medium and beat in the eggs and vanilla. Reduce speed to low and mix in the flour, salt, and baking soda. Gently stir in the potato chips and chocolate chips.

Drop the cookie dough by tablespoonfuls, about 2 inches apart, onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake for 14 to 16 minutes. Let cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes. Transfer the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

